//
you're reading...
My cars

My Fiat 124 Coupé

(Picture is not the actual car)

BACK in 1975, foreign cars were still very much in a minority on British roads but, of course, in those days we still had a motor industry, after a fashion.

The red Fiat 124 Coupé, registration number MRL777F, was only my second foreign car. I bought it from a garage in the Bristol area, where I was living at the time, and it quickly became obvious to me why the Italian marque had a rather mixed reputation at the time.

I had paid somewhere in the region of £600 for it, as I recall. It was a 1968 model. It was pretty, it was quite nippy but it was, of course, quite impractical for a family of four.

It also proved unreliable and its snazzy sunroof leaked so much water whenever it rained that it was like being in a convertible with the top down. I remember one journey in a particularly heavy downpour when the family were completely drenched.

Repeated trips back to the dealer failed to solve the problem, and after only a few weeks, I gratefully accepted their offer to swap the Fiat for anything else of a similar value that they had on their forecourt.  I had bought it in July 1975 and disposed of it in December of the same year.

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

