//
you're reading...
My cars

My Singer Vogue

(Picture is not the actual car)

I KNOW! One of the world’s most boring cars and a complete contrast from everything that had gone before and most of what would come after.

But while ownership of a Singer Vogue still makes me blush a little all these years later, I do remember clearly that at the time it seemed a terribly sensible choice.

It was in excellent condition when I bought it, was exceedingly practical and comfortable, with family considerations uppermost in my mind, and it proved totally reliable during the short period I owned it.

The car was two-tone green like the one in the picture. It was a 1966 model, registration number GHR631D.

I bought it in January 1973; I sold it in June the same year because, for a young chap, it desperately lacked the slightest trace of what would nowadays be called ‘street cred’; that mattered then and the Vogue had to go.

Street cred came next . . .

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

